About the Commission » The Commissioners

The Commissioners

The Jersey Gambling Commission consists of a chairman and two members, all of whom are appointed on the recommendation of the Minister for Economic Development, Tourism, Sport and Culture.

The Current Members


Advocate Cyril Whelan


Called to the English bar in 1979 and to the Jersey bar in 1982, Advocate Whelan spent 28 years as senior legal adviser in the Law Officers’ Department in Jersey. He was appointed to the office of Crown Advocate immediately upon the creation of that office in 1987 and remains the Island’s longest serving Crown Advocate. He has served from time to time as Jersey’s acting Attorney General. Advocate Whelan retired from the Law Officers’ Department in 2007 and is currently a Senior Consultant at the local law firm Baker and Partners. Among other positions of public service, he acts as one of Jersey’s relief Coroners. Advocate Whelan became a Commissioner of the Jersey Financial Services Commission on 1st June 2010.


Debbie Sebire


Ms Sebire is currently a non-executive director of Coutts & Co Trustees (Jersey) Limited. From 2004 to 2012 Ms Sebire was the Director, Trust Company Business for the Jersey Financial Services Commission. Following the introduction of trust company regulation, this role involved establishing a practical framework to supervise trust companies in accordance with the newly introduced Laws, Orders and Codes of Practice. The role also involved overseeing the investigation and any resultant application of enforcement measures to both individuals and trust companies, as necessary. From 1991 to 2004 Ms Sebire worked as a Director of Citigroup's Jersey Trust Company, responsible at various times for running the Jersey Trust Company and a Mutual Fund Unit. Additionally she also moved to Singapore for the purpose of establishing a trust presence in that region for Citigroup. Ms Sebire is an Associate of the Chartered Institute of Bankers and a Member of the Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners.


Advocate Matthew Swan


Matthew Swan recently retired as a partner of the Jersey office of Ogier, a global offshore law firm, after working there for twenty years. During his time there, he was managing partner of the Jersey legal office and headed the Banking and Finance practice. He was ranked as a leading individual for finance in both Legal 500 and Chambers and, amongst other things, was heavily involved in the drafting and implementation of the Security Interests (Jersey) Law 2012. He has been qualified as an English solicitor and Cayman attorney-at -law. He is active as an advisor for the Jersey Citizens Advice and is also a member of the Jersey Police Complaints Authority.